So What Do You Want From Us?

I just recently read a profile of Yohanes Sulaiman, a recent Indonesian PhD graduate from Ohio State University, who is also a teaching associate there. Some comments from his ex-students in this page:

Very difficult to understand his accent.

Additionally, his native language is NOT English.

Whoa. Perfect checkmates against foreign professor. 😆

So what do you want us (or them?) to do? Learn your accent? Is it always good to imitate? 😀

But just in case, I am practising British English. So far this is the one of two most appealing accents to me, the other being Scottish English (hell yeah Britannia rules the wave!). Not a specific regional British English but just a generic one. At first I may sound weird and you can apparently feel that I am faking it. And even my lips got tired after a few minutes! But so yeah, I hope my accent gets better gradually over time.

BTW, as International Politics and International Relations students, you are expected to comprehend non-native accents of English aren’t you? Have you ever heard of Singlish? 😛

UPDATE:

In case somebody doesn’t notice.

I strongly oppose the idea that we must follow either American or British or any other native accent of English when we speak in that language. I think that Indian should be freely speak in that langauge, and so do Chinese, Japanese, German, Italiano, etc. Of course as non-native speakers we are obliged to practise to speak English correcly, i.e. to pronounce words correctly, use grammar wisely, and so on and so forth. But that is only it. When it comes to dialect / accent, we should not restrict people.

Then why do I learn British English? Because firstly it is cool, and secondly I think it will be easier for native speakers to understand me. Of course the first reason gives much more weight than the second, because it is pointed out in remembrance of great British rock bands. 😛

So, my fellow Javanese people, use Javanese English, ya? :mrgreen:

8 Responses to “So What Do You Want From Us?”


  1. 1 Generasi Patah Hati 10/06/2009 at 8:01 AM

    Wah kalau saya malah belum punya aksen yang jelas, mbuh british mbuh amerika, hehehe. :mrgreen:

  2. 2 grace 10/06/2009 at 9:57 AM

    huweeeeeeeeeeeeee….
    exactly what I’m worried all this time!
    I think I need a clear accent since malay-english really bugging me.
    yatapi gimana dong? lecturer saya kebanyakan begitu, only few of them are speaking with clear accents. itupun, biasanya pake aksen india atau arab. T_T
    apalagi sejak saya magang dan temen magang saya kul di US. he outshined meeeee….!
    *berasa ga berguna kuliah jauh2*

  3. 3 lambrtz 10/06/2009 at 11:07 AM

    @Generasi Patah Hati
    Udah pake Javanese English aja. Kombak kambek ten tausen yes? :mrgreen:

    @grace
    Dan Singlish sudah merasuki pengucapan saya. Hehehe.
    Kenapa ga magang di USA ajah? :mrgreen:

  4. 4 arm 10/06/2009 at 4:26 PM

    😆
    sering2 nonton bola dengan komentator asli 😀
    bahkan di dalam logat Britis masih ada medhok2 lokal di tiap kotanya 😛

  5. 5 Ali Sastroamidjojo 11/06/2009 at 10:41 AM

    Yang penting ngertilah.

  6. 6 Ando-kun 11/06/2009 at 6:05 PM

    My broken japanese ruins my broken english.
    How can I speak english “beautifully” if I still mix it with “supiido”, “meetoru”, etc……

    poor me and poor my ear and tongue…. fiuhhh

    *belajar dialek Kansai*

  7. 7 dnial 12/06/2009 at 1:13 PM

    I mix and match English with France and Latin… Sound cool, if you’re talking to a native. 😛

  8. 8 lambrtz 13/06/2009 at 9:52 AM

    @arm
    Kalo saya sih gara-gara nonton Monty Python 😛

    @Ali Sastroamidjojo
    Sayangnya logat British English saya sulit dimengerti 😛

    @Ando-kun

    My broken japanese ruins my broken english.

    😆 Jadinya broken semua? 😆

    @dnial
    ^:)^ suhu ^:)^


Leave a Reply

lambrtz looks like this

Me

You can write comments in any language that you want, but please bear in mind that I only understand 4 languages: English, Indonesian, Javanese and Malay.

Archives

Categories

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Click to view my Personality Profile page