Political Correctness; By Default

I read this and this and loled hard.

😆 LOL😆 LOL😆 LOL😆 LOL😆 LOL😆 LOL😆 LOL😆 LOL😆 LOL😆 LOL😆 LOL😆 LOL😆

I’d already guessed that it would turn to be like that.:mrgreen:

Of course I know that the commentator’s intention was good, but I think it is not politically correct. In order to make such a wish, you must first know whether the person you wish observes it or not. Previously, he also wished me a happy fasting, but I can understand it (and I don’t really mind about the OOT-ness; such a kind guy, amn’t I?:mrgreen: ) since you can’t find what my religious belief is easily in this blog. However, in Jensen’s case, he has explicitly written in the sidebar that he is a Protestant, so logically he doesn’t observe the Ramadhan fast. Well, maybe the wisher missed it, but he wished it anyway since in his mindset Indonesians are Moslem by default.

This is not only to mock the commentator. In fact I suffer from this too, sometimes. The difference is that I don’t want to know what your religious belief is; I am not interested to know it. E.g., I didn’t know that my colleague who sits next to me is a free thinker until I read his Facebook profile, several months after I knew him. Therefore, by default I won’t wish you anything, until you tell me or you observe your religious practice in front of me or I just accidentally find out. In fact not only religion. I had a kawaii xD friend, a girl, who looks like a Chinese. Some friends say she is not, while others agree that she is. Therefore I didn’t wish her a Gong Xi Fa Cai during the Chinese New Year. Well, I am not sure whether this is good, but I do it all the time anyway.🙂

But political correctness sucks, doesn’t it?😕

BTW, I have ever been wished for a couple of events that I don’t celebrate. Deepavali. Chinese New Year. Do I look more like a Chinese or Indian, actually?😕 Anyway, I just usually say “Thanks, but I don’t celebrate it.”🙂 But sometimes I don’t really care about it and just respond “Thanks”.😆

11 Responses to “Political Correctness; By Default”


  1. 1 Zephyr 21/08/2009 at 6:00 AM

    The point is… we have to respect each other.. (?) emmm.. We? How bot the others? FYI, Soccer is a religion, and i’m chelseanism😛

  2. 2 Kurotsuchi 21/08/2009 at 9:51 AM

    And i don’t really mind about the OOT-ness

    Taelah… You took it too serious, masbrur… Its kinda joke,
    U know… I wont purpossively dragged the word ‘God’ unless the topic related with Him. *nyadar pentingnya tag lol sama mrgreen*
    Your case was similar with mine, but i was troubled with my fingerprint which was banned by the absence machine’s sensor. The cause’s still unknown, n i cant track back where or what the error is. If u did some coding using sooo many declarations n parameters, then i’m sure u’ll understand:mrgreen: so here’s come the gag; its God’s wrath that in that day my fingerprint was banned by the shitty machine😆

  3. 3 lambrtz 21/08/2009 at 9:57 AM

    @Zephyr
    Yes, indeed we do. And mine is MU-nism😈

    @Kurotsuchi

    You took it too serious

    I took what too serious?😕
    I was referring to my comment towards the one leaving comment after you.😕

  4. 4 Kurotsuchi 21/08/2009 at 10:59 AM

    *dudulnya diri ini…*
    Baru paham saya😛

    E komen saya yg pertama di apus aja lah, masbrur. Saya sepakat aja sama kamu. Bukan apa2 sih, males aja kalo ntar urusannya jadi panjang😦

  5. 5 jensen99 21/08/2009 at 11:22 AM

    BTW, I have ever been wished for a couple of events that I don’t celebrate.

    Now you mention it, I’ve got a lot of Merry Christmas wish last year either..😆

    *siyul-siyul*

    BTW, why I only see a blue blank square on your header? What’s happened with the pic?😕

  6. 6 lambrtz 21/08/2009 at 11:28 AM

    @Kurotsuchi
    Done.😀

    @jensen99
    Including from me.🙂
    Well, it is traditionally logical for one to wish you a Merry Christmas if you are a Christian, isn’t it? But then I realised that you don’t belong to the same group as many others.:mrgreen:

    *ngeyel*

    BTW, why I only see a blue blank square on your header? What’s happened with the pic?

    I removed it, so that the third item can be seen. White header behind white text is not a good idea.

  7. 7 dina 21/08/2009 at 12:24 PM

    I got a merry christmas too when I was walking on the street last christmas. Gee..I thought my headcover would hide my christianity😀

    I kinda like it though. it felt like I’m part of them🙂

  8. 8 lambrtz 21/08/2009 at 1:21 PM

    ^😆
    Somehow it reminds me of this Richard Dawkins’s article.:mrgreen:

    **************************

    Wait, on my second thought, I have another idea. Maybe someday I’ll write about this.

  9. 9 dnial 21/08/2009 at 3:57 PM

    The politically correct will be: “Happy holiday” then. Sora9n has been all over it in his post (I forgot which :P).

  10. 10 lambrtz 21/08/2009 at 4:00 PM

    ^
    I know, and this form of greeting sucks hard.😕
    I usually use the if else branching.

  11. 11 frozen 21/08/2009 at 6:23 PM

    I rued it when I unintentionally say “Selamat Natal” to Jensen just because I don’t know that he is a Christian Wahabi ;-(


Leave a Reply

lambrtz looks like this

Me

You can write comments in any language that you want, but please bear in mind that I only understand 4 languages: English, Indonesian, Javanese and Malay.

Archives

Categories

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Click to view my Personality Profile page