Taxi-driving PhD

Very late in the morning but have to write this before I forget.

Just now I read an article that my friend had shared in his Facebook several days ago. OK, I’ll give you some time to read it. And I’m now getting really worried.

A PhD, even from Stanford, does not always guarantee you for a secure job. The struggle for having a decent life is still there, waiting for the time when we fail to meet what we are expected to do.

Then I googled his name and found his blog. Spontaneously I started to admire his stores and also writing style. He must be well-versed in philosophy or something. He translated a Chinese poem into English while maintainng its rhyme, and yet he considered it an ย “amateur work”. Quite skillful, eh?

He must be a very great guy.

And from his stories it seems like being a taxi driver can introduce you to other people’s life briefly, from which you can learn how to respect life.

I like this andย this posts most, BTW.

***

Personal note

In fact having PhD as my intermediate goal is partly to search for a better life abroad. I wrote in one of my previous post that continuing your study is the fastest and easiest way to achieve it for a person in my position. But I thought once we have PhD we will have a secure life with a secure financial condition. I didn’t know about this until just now. And even further, I didn’t know that there areย many PhDs doing the same thing somewhere else.

Considering my elitist-leaning nature, I am not sure that I will be prepared if in the future I happen to have the same experience as him. Will I be grateful if I can only get a job as a, say, janitor, cleaning the floor and the tables of a restaurant after the consumers finish their dishes? Even a position in an Indonesian university will not do. Really, I seem to resemble the people that he criticises.

And I am obviously a bad driver.

Oh, maybe I can strive for my second dream. To be a rock star, even if it is just in local events. My musicianship is below par, and I play guitar and bass sloppily, so I guess being a punk rocker is reasonable. I love you full, hahahahaha. ๐Ÿ˜€

12 Responses to “Taxi-driving PhD”


  1. 1 dnial 24/08/2009 at 8:33 AM

    This is why I prefer master over Ph.D. ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. 2 Felicia 24/08/2009 at 10:23 AM

    well then, should people who already have secure job stop chasing higher education?
    just to be safe, that is…

  3. 3 Lumiere 24/08/2009 at 10:55 AM

    *membaca preface-nya dg hati ndak enak*
    Lamberd nulis ini bukan krn komenku di rumah Gentole kan? yg soal PhD itu kan cuma becanda Berd.. ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

    ..Oh, maybe I can strive for my second dream. To be a rock star, even if it is just in local events..

    hmm, ngamen aja mulai sekarang, gmn? ๐Ÿ™„ Ntar kalo ada sunatan, kamu ta’ undang yo?

  4. 4 lambrtz 24/08/2009 at 11:37 AM

    @dnial
    No, the God of Hard Time is still there, regardless you are a Master or PhD or something else.

    @Felicia
    No, the God of Hard Time is still there, regardless you are chasing higher education or not.

    @Lumiere

    *membaca preface-nya dg hati ndak enak*
    Lamberd nulis ini bukan krn komenku di rumah Gentole kan? yg soal PhD itu kan cuma becanda Berd.. ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

    Lah lah lah ada apa ini??? ๐Ÿ˜ฏ Saya mah tahu itu cuma bercanda. ๐Ÿ˜•
    Ini kan cuma habis baca artikel The Straits Times itu. ๐Ÿ˜›

    hmm, ngamen aja mulai sekarang, gmn? ๐Ÿ™„

    Takgendong…ke mana-mana…

  5. 5 Arm 24/08/2009 at 6:38 PM

    but he stated on his blog that he write his story merely just for entertainment purpose ^^

    The struggle for having a decent life is still there, waiting for the time when we fail to meet what we are expected to do

    QFT :-B

  6. 6 lambrtz 25/08/2009 at 12:03 AM

    ^
    Yes. Of course. ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. 7 Kurotsuchi 25/08/2009 at 8:47 AM

    I’ve ever read the similar issue written by a japanese scientist who won noble prize in the same major field with dr.cai. He wrote that as a researcher in one qualified institute in usa, there’s a kinda regular evaluation for one’s research. One who failed the evaluation can be ended-up as a taxi driver. He also wrote that he witnessed some researcher to be a taxi driver

  8. 8 Kurotsuchi 25/08/2009 at 8:54 AM

    FYI, i’m in a private company right now. But still, i dont feel that this job is a kinda secure job. Uh well, maybe i should try once theres a new opened government formation.

    And about the band, maybe i should find my guitarist, my bassist and a lead vocal ๐Ÿ˜›

  9. 9 lambrtz 25/08/2009 at 9:51 AM

    ^

    thereโ€™s a kinda regular evaluation for oneโ€™s research. One who failed the evaluation can be ended-up as a taxi driver. He also wrote that he witnessed some researcher to be a taxi driver

    OMG so it must be quite common then?? ๐Ÿ˜ฏ Walaueeee

    FYI, iโ€™m in a private company right now. But still, i dont feel that this job is a kinda secure job. Uh well, maybe i should try once theres a new opened government formation.

    Yeah of course it is safer. :mrgreen:

    And about the band, maybe i should find my guitarist, my bassist and a lead vocal ๐Ÿ˜›

    Can I join? ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. 10 Ando-kun 25/08/2009 at 5:47 PM

    secure? what is the meaning of secure?
    You know there is no secure job for any body in this world cause our life always in struggle. no body can predict our future, young man.

    secure job = security??? :mrgreen:

  11. 11 lambrtz 25/08/2009 at 6:21 PM

    ^
    Pulang kampung nih ye. :mrgreen:

    Yeah, that is what I missed.

  12. 12 Zephyr 25/08/2009 at 10:43 PM

    no body can predict our future, young man.

    Agreed. PhD? a researcher? i’m trying… amen to that. ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

lambrtz looks like this

Me

You can write comments in any language that you want, but please bear in mind that I only understand 4 languages: English, Indonesian, Javanese and Malay.

Archives

Categories

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Click to view my Personality Profile page