Furusato

Again, envy strikes me again as I am thinking about top world scientists and researchers who can work near their hometowns, while at the same time, in the workplace they can reach world-class excellency. Marvin Minsky is tenured in the east coast of USA, while Stephen Hawking’s life has been mainly in Oxford and Cambridge. People like Lotfi Zadeh and Abdus Salam have(-d) to move away from their lands of origin in order to contribute more to the world. Japan is different; Shinichiro Tomonaga did not need to move, because at that time they had the potential to become a developed country with advanced science and technology, and it has been proven to be true. As for my case, I am very very doubtful that I can work in my home country, achieving the same career level. Of course, I can make another city abroad as my third settlement after Yogyakarta and Ponorogo, but it will never be my furusato; I didn’t grow up there, and I can’t be as emotional as how I feel towards the former two cities.

I am very envious. I miss the food in my hometown. I miss the nasi padang in Pogung, near the Selokan Mataram; the tripe is nice, and the gravy is also tasty. I miss the nasi goreng at the corner of THR 3-junction; it has the correct level of spiciness. I miss another nasi goreng, this one with pork, behind Pasar Beringharjo. I miss the sengsu (oseng-oseng asu) in Gampingan. I miss the teh poci that I used to drink in Kaliurang. I miss the cap cay sold at Terang Mulyo. Farther to the east, I miss Ponorogo’s ayam goreng Pemuda. I miss the soto Lamongan near my grandparents’ ex-home in Kediri (the surrounding area was demolished several years ago and replaced with…I don’t know, maybe something like a department store; never been there since then). Ah, I wonder if I can meet them regularly again.

Sengsu
Sengsu

There are two ways to overcome this. One, open Indonesian restaurants. Indonesia has a lot of dishes with different savours, yet IMO they are relatively unknown in the world. This way we can introduce them to international community, and you can say that this is how I bring my nationalism to the real life. However, as I mentioned earlier, my foreign residence will never be my hometown, so it is not a perfect solution. A better idea is to bring the research home. Open research labs in Yogyakarta. Done. But the problems are now money and bureaucracy. Sigh. Different solutions have different weaknesses.

Source: http://forum.detik.com/showthread.php?t=26846&page=21

8 Responses to “Furusato”


  1. 1 Kurotsuchi 30/09/2009 at 5:26 AM

    speaking of furusato always give you a light chill at your neck, mbertz… and even untill now, i always thinking about where will I build my castle…:mrgreen:

    but to be more realistic, inyong namung nyoba mangerteni, nak inyong kesasar nang jakarta amarga nang Ngayogyakarta Hadiningrat, inyong wus ‘ora keduman’ papan pakaryan… thats why now i’m here, in the centre of the economic activities of INA. but yes, sometimes the thought about going back to my furusato, struck my head directly, and give me a TKO😛

    and about food? never pay any attention into it… but at least, I always like lotek campur suwiran bakwan sung didol keliling nang kompleks Pogung Kidul… utawa es buah pasar kranggan🙂

    I miss the cap cay sold at

    at where?

  2. 2 Mr.El-Adani 30/09/2009 at 4:01 PM

    Kuliner kita memang bervariasi, Mas😀 kalau ada waktu dan kesempatan cobalah sesekali masakan Aceh, buat nambah pengalaman kuliner hehe😀

  3. 3 jensen99 30/09/2009 at 6:47 PM

    I miss Jogja, I miss Jakarta, I miss Jingapore, somewhere I belong…

    *stuck*

  4. 4 Pak Guru 01/10/2009 at 2:43 AM

    But on the flipside, these academics (yes, those tenuring within a driving range from the kindergartens they attended) were also deprived of the sheer romance of moving away from home, to brighter new places. It has been said that part of the reason the Internet will never kill traditional Universities is precisely because virtually all that went (or will go) to campuses were spellbound by the thought of eloping with freedom, away from the tedium and banality of their hometowns. This Signor Professore would spend all his academic glory digesting the same Bolognese pasta he’s been eating for the past sixty years.

    It may seem like a very petty reason, having nothing to do with actual education, science, or the teaching culture and enterprise, but then again, so is cap cay, and so is nasi Padang.:mrgreen:

    * * *

    That said, I hold nasi Padang at the highest esteem. They say four things are worth living for: God, science, art, and nasi Padang.

  5. 5 Ali Sastroamidjojo 01/10/2009 at 4:26 PM

    ^

    They say four things are worth living for: God, science, art, and sop iga.

  6. 6 near 01/10/2009 at 9:23 PM

    tetep, nasi rames😎

  7. 7 Ando-kun 02/10/2009 at 3:57 PM

    Pernah kerja part time di restoran masakan Indonesia, dan pernah juga dapet jatah makan disana. Tetap saja rasanya beda (menurut lidahku).

    Moshi, doko demo doa ga areba, zettai ni doraemon wo sagasanai to…

    *barusan pulkam, tp pengen lagi…..

  8. 8 lambrtz 02/10/2009 at 7:08 PM

    @Kurotsuchi

    but at least, I always like lotek campur suwiran bakwan sung didol keliling nang kompleks Pogung Kidul…

    Eh ada ya? Yang mana ya?😕

    at where?

    Terang Mulyo. Makasih sudah mengkoreksi, mata anda jeli sekali.😀

    @Mr.El-Adani
    Ah saya cuma pernah makan roti canai ala Aceh.😦
    Makasih masukannya.😀

    @jensen99
    But trust me, if you can make your way, there is a big chance you will miss the city where you grew up.😀

    @Pak Guru
    Yes of course, but equivalent career choices exist in their hometowns / somewhere nearby.

    @Pak Guru, Ali Sastroamidjojo
    God, science, art and nasi goreng.

    @near aka esensi
    Olala! Nasi rames! Sudah berapa tahun tak makan??😯

    @Ando-kun
    Ga kaget sih, karena pasti sudah disesuaikan dengan lidah sana.
    Iya sih, kalau saja ada dokodemo doa.😦


Leave a Reply

lambrtz looks like this

Me

You can write comments in any language that you want, but please bear in mind that I only understand 4 languages: English, Indonesian, Javanese and Malay.

Archives

Categories

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
Click to view my Personality Profile page