25 Songs That Make Me Me

I am inspired by some articles on the internet. Instead of only reading them, why not make my own list of subjectively the greatest songs ever written?๐Ÿ˜€ Listed not in any particular order, except for the first three.

1) Noriko Mitose – Radical Dreamers ~ Nusumenai Houseki. This song makes me very lonely.

2) Faye Wong – Eyes on Me. This song once made me shed a tear, literally.

3) Emiko Shiratori – Melodies on Life. Well by now you already know my favourite game developer company.:mrgreen:

4) John Lennon – Imagine. A song that leads me to the left.

5) Metallica – The Unforgiven. The entrance to heavy metal, despite being the less metal song from them. My most favourite band.

6) Nirvana – Smells Like Teen Spirit. The entrance to grunge and alternative rock, and punk to some extent. My 2nd most favourite band.

7) Bob Marley – Redemption Song. Emancipate yourself from mental slavery, none but ourselves can free our minds.

8] Koes Plus – Hidup di Bui. Anti oppression and authoritarian song, to me. My most favourite Indonesian musician.๐Ÿ˜€

9) Sore – Vrijeman. I just like it. My 2nd most favourite Indonesian musician. I can’t find any video for this song, so you can listen to it here.

10) Ebiet G Ade – Lagu untuk Sebuah Nama. This song shapes my maternal romanticism; my mother really likes his songs. Personal experience.๐Ÿ˜€ Sebab, cinta bukan mesti bersatu… (lirik jensen) (FYI, I have changed it from Elegi Esok Pagi)

11) Franky Sahilatua – Lelaki dan Rembulan. This song shapes my paternal romanticism; my father really likes his songs.๐Ÿ˜€

12) Skid Row – Youth Gone Wild. The best hair rock song ever written. Hair rock is not supposed to be about love as in power ballads \m/. One of my favourite singer, Sebastian Bach, used to sing for this band.

13) The Beatles – Strawberry Field Forever. Well, actually a lot of The Beatles’ songs, particularly their late works, shape me, but this is their song that I like most. One weirder song of them, another example of which is Blue Jay Way, it took me ages to like and make this song my most favourite of theirs.

14) Rage Against The Machine – Township Rebellion. This song makes Tom Morello one of my guitar heroes and forget all the guitar shredders. They also lead me to the left.

15) Muse – Hysteria. Long live the geeks!:mrgreen: This song makes Chris Wolstenholme one of my bass heroes, but in this band as well another favourite guitarist, Matt Bellamy, plays. My 3rd most favourite band.

16) The Sex Pistols – Anarchy in The UK. The entrance to root punk.

17) The Ramones – The KKK Took My Baby Away. The entrance to the founding fathers of punk, The Ramones. I didn’t know that punk can be this easy-listening.๐Ÿ˜€ Their guitarist, Johnny Ramone, is one of my favourite guitarists, despite our political view differences. Well not that it matters anyway.

18) The Doors – Light My Fire. The entrance to psychedelic rock. At first, I cannot resist their lengthy instrumental jam, but I can gradually enjoy it. In this band plays my favourite keyboardist, Ray Manzarek.

19) Onmyouza – Tsuki ni Kusamura Hana ni Kaze. The entrance to Japanese folk music. Another favourite singer sings for this band, Kuroneko. My 4th most favourite band.

20) Rush – Tom Sawyer. Although I began by listening to Dream Theater, this song makes me fall in love even more to progressive rock. Their drummer, Neil Peart, is my most favourite drummer, and the bassist, Geddy Lee, is my role model.

21) Pink Floyd – See Emily Play. Another psychedelic song of different style.

22) The Who – My Generation. Introduced to them by my father’s friend who is an avid guitarist, this song makes Keith Moon my 2nd most favourite drummer and John Entwistle another bass hero of mine. Easy and fun song to play.๐Ÿ˜€

23) Rรถyksopp – Remind Me. The entrance to techno. Nice video clip.๐Ÿ˜€

24) Kings of Convenience – Cayman Islands. Relaxing song, it gives me a creep. At first, I thought this is a cowboy-ish folk song. No, really. But they, along with their fellow countrymen, Royksopp, make me interested in the Scandinavian indie music scene.

25) Utada Hikaru – Final Distance. The entrance to J-pop.

***

Bonus: Aya Matsuura – Momoiro Kataomoi. I don’t know what it is about, but I can be quite sure that this is another cheesy commercial song. The singer, Aya Matsuura, however, has set up a very high standard for kawaii-ness.๐Ÿ˜ณ Yes I know I am a pervert.

12 Responses to “25 Songs That Make Me Me”


  1. 1 iezul 05/01/2010 at 6:08 AM

    Boleh nambahin gak. . .Utada hikaru-first love,planet band-lupakan aku,en byak yg lainx

  2. 2 Felicia 05/01/2010 at 10:36 AM

    1. OST Chrono Cross
    2. OST Final Fantasy VIII
    3. OST Final Fantasy IX
    4 and so on… don’t really know๐Ÿ˜€

  3. 3 gunawanrudy 05/01/2010 at 1:07 PM

    kok nggak ada doy – kangen ben ya๐Ÿ˜•

  4. 4 Lumiere 05/01/2010 at 3:00 PM

    John Lennon, Imagine, teuteup \m/

  5. 5 joesatch yang legendaris 05/01/2010 at 4:28 PM

    saya dulu juga sempat nyatet list beginian djo. waktu esema pulak. jaman itu rencananya mau bikin kopi cd-nya sendiri biar bisa dibawa kemana2 pake discman. ealah…proyek itu kelupaan digarap terus sampai akhirnya kemarin pas saya pulang ke denpasar, catatan list lagu itu sudah lenyap entah ke mana – soale saya nyatetnya di halaman belakang buku catatan fisika (atau kimia ya? entah. pokoknya pelajaran yang bikin saya lebih milih nggambar2 nggak jelas ketimbang merhatiin gurunya)

  6. 6 Kurotsuchi 05/01/2010 at 9:58 PM

    JOHN LENNON? saya masih setia sama “Woman”

    KOES PLUS saya masih setia sama “Kembali Ke Jakarta” dan “Pagi Yang Indah”… yang judul kedua ini bikin saya termenye-menye di minggu pagi pas masih di Jogja, mungkin selevel dengan “Smile For Me”-nya THE TIGER…๐Ÿ˜€

    SORE? masih tetep konsisten dengan “Pergi Tanpa Pesan”… meski begitu, belum bisa menggeser kedigdayaan THE ADAMS buat saya๐Ÿ˜€

    EBIET G ADE, like i said, saya cuman mengakui “Menjaring Matahari” dowangan๐Ÿ˜†

    FRANKY SAHILATUA… udah pernah dengerin “Purnama Jangan Berkeping”? itu yang saya suka dari Franky

    ONMYOUZA, saya masih saja demen sama “Kouga Ninpouchou”… keren sangat deh pokoknya๐Ÿ˜›

    RUSH? RUSH? temen saya juga mencoba membujuk saya buat ‘beralih’ ke RUSH. tapi saya masih membuktikan sikap istiqomah saya untuk tetap menganut taklid kepada DREAM THEATER๐Ÿ˜€ Mike Portnoy tetep yang nomer wahid buat saya:mrgreen:

    UTADA HIKARU, saya pernah demen banget sama “Simple & Clean”. tapi belakangan, saya terus-terusan muterin “Beautiful World” yang jadi ED rebuild of Evangelion 0.1: You Are [Not] Alone…

    anyway, postingan yang ini beneran keren dah๐Ÿ˜€

  7. 7 Ando-kun 05/01/2010 at 10:43 PM

    Mungkin maksudnya 25 songs for recent time.
    *curiga lambrtz bakalan nambah lagi kapan2*

  8. 8 lambrtz 05/01/2010 at 11:22 PM

    @iezul
    Wah lagu-lagu tersebut kurang membekas / tidak saya ketahui.:mrgreen:
    BTW selamat datang.๐Ÿ˜€

    @Felicia
    Betul. Yang lainnya lagu biasa. Yah paling-paling nampil di Rock Band atau Guitar Heroes.๐Ÿ˜€

    @gunawanrudy
    Lha itu bukannya lagumu? :-”

    @Lumiere
    And no religions too.๐Ÿ˜€

    @joesatch yang legendaris
    Lha emangnya sekarang dah lupa gitu? Mbok diinget-inget lagi.๐Ÿ˜›

    @Kurotsuchi
    Weladalah komenne dawa.๐Ÿ˜†

    John Lennon: Woman itu no 2, dan no 3 nya Oh My Love, tapi tetep no 1 Imagine.๐Ÿ˜€

    Koes Plus itu banyak lagunya yang saya suka. Hidup di Bui itu pintu masuknya.๐Ÿ˜€

    The Adams keren juga, tapi buat saya masih keren Sore.๐Ÿ˜€

    Ebiet G Ade, lah itu malah kurang berkesan bagi saya.๐Ÿ˜›

    Franky Sahilatua juga.๐Ÿ˜› Di samping lagu romantisnya, yang terngiang ya lagu sosial macam Terminal dan Orang Pinggiran.๐Ÿ˜€

    Onmyouza, Kouga Ninpouchou memang lebih megah, tapi Tsuki ni blah blah blah ini pintu masuknya, terutama karena tangga nadanya yang menurut saya waktu itu aneh.๐Ÿ˜€

    Rush > Dream Theater. \m/

    Utada Hikaru, kalau yang agak baru yang saya suka Keep Tryin’.๐Ÿ˜€

    anyway, postingan yang ini beneran keren dah๐Ÿ˜€

    Makasih. Ditunggu postingan serupa.:mrgreen:

    @Ando-kun
    Kecuali saya berubah haluan secara drastis, rasanya tidak bakal berubah jauh. Kalau saya membuat list ini 10 tahun lalu, Earth Song-nya Michael Jackson dan Backstreet Back-nya Backstreet Boys bakal masuk.๐Ÿ˜€

  9. 9 itikkecil 05/01/2010 at 11:36 PM

    dari 25 lagu di atas, saya bersepakat dengan Nirvana dan Metallica…
    those songs made me me

  10. 10 lambrtz 05/01/2010 at 11:42 PM

    ^๐Ÿ˜ฏ
    Sister… >:D<

  11. 11 jensen99 07/01/2010 at 12:18 PM

    Posting yang layak ditiru, tapi seingatku banyak lagu2 favorit saya klipnya dah didelet dari yutub, atau gak bisa diplay/embed…๐Ÿ‘ฟ

    BTT, kecuali lagu2 Indonesia disitu, saya suka seleramu.๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. 12 lambrtz 07/01/2010 at 12:53 PM

    ^
    Ini bukan list lagu favorit lho. Untuk Metallica, misalnya, lagu favorit saya adalah One, dan untuk Nirvana lagu favorit saya adalah You Know You’re Right. Lagu-lagu ini semata-mata mempengaruhi saya, dengan segala ideologi postmo, anarkis dan menyenya.๐Ÿ˜€

    Makasih, ditunggu postingan serupanya. Ini pun ada beberapa video yang ga bisa diembed, macam Cayman Islands dan Tom Sawyer itu.๐Ÿ˜€


Leave a Reply

lambrtz looks like this

Me

You can write comments in any language that you want, but please bear in mind that I only understand 4 languages: English, Indonesian, Javanese and Malay.

Archives

Categories

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Click to view my Personality Profile page