On Fasting, On Prayer, And A Thought to be Temporal Evangelical Fundamentalist

And when you fast, be not as the hypocrites, sad. For they disfigure their faces, that they may appear unto men to fast. Amen I say to you, they have received their reward. But you, when you fast, anoint your head and wash your face; that you appear not to men to fast, but to your Father who is in secret: and your Father who sees in secret, will repay you.

Mat 6:16-18

***

Today is Ash Wednesday; that is, for some denominations of Christian, including the Roman Catholic Church, this day is celebrated by the adherents by fasting (and also being engaged in some other rituals, but I’m just going to talk about fasting). Above is some verses that I found in the Bible, yet I found many Christian fellows speak up about their intentions to fast on Facebook. At first, I was thinking to be a temporal evangelical fundamentalist, trying to convey this passage to them, but I aborted this plan.

You see, I am not religious. I skip masses. Yet, there is one passage that I follow blindly. That is, the passage that precedes the above-written verses.

But you when you shall pray, enter into your chamber, and having shut the door, pray to your Father in secret, and your father who sees in secret will repay you.

Mat 6:6

I personally see this message as a call for humility, for not being a hypocrite. Therefore, I don’t individually explicitly pray outside my bedroom or church, unless it is a public prayer, which is also held in a secluded environment. And the consequence is that I don’t quote Biblical verses, except in some occasions when I want to spoil my ego and make me feel sinfully righteous. I don’t want people to see me as a religious person (which, in fact, I am not). And this, my brothers and sisters, prevents me from often sharing what I know about my religion, unless the other party asks me. This is further encouraged by a passage from another Gospel:

But one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the best part, which shall not be taken away from her.

Luke 10:42

There you have it.

I, however, need to speak this up, rather than letting this thought rot in my mind, so let me just preach here, since this blog is basically my rubbish dump.

Kyrie eleison.

7 Responses to “On Fasting, On Prayer, And A Thought to be Temporal Evangelical Fundamentalist”


  1. 1 Felicia 17/02/2010 at 11:12 AM

    Selamat Rabu Abu…
    apa pantangan anda hari ini? 😀

  2. 2 itikkecil 17/02/2010 at 12:31 PM

    selamat rabu abu….

  3. 3 lambrtz 17/02/2010 at 2:11 PM

    @Felicia
    Pantang ngrokok. Sukses dijalankan selama 22 tahun +, bahkan pada hari biasa di luar Prapaskah. :mrgreen:

    @itikkecil
    Makasih mbak… 😀

  4. 4 安藤君 19/02/2010 at 12:10 PM

    Amen… Amen… Ya rab al amen………

  5. 5 dnial 19/02/2010 at 4:04 PM

    “Pantang ngrokok. Sukses dijalankan selama 22 tahun +, bahkan pada hari biasa di luar Prapaskah.”

    Dodol goreng!

  6. 6 elangsawah 20/02/2010 at 3:48 PM

    Selamat buat yang merayakan hari Rabu Abu..

    Yang tidak merayakan berarti tidak selamat? 😕

  7. 7 lambrtz 20/02/2010 at 8:36 PM

    Ini postingan kok sepi ya, ga kaya sebelumnya. Apa gara-gara bawa agama? 😕

    @Ando
    Hallelujah! Allahu akbar!

    @dnial
    Enak ya? 😕

    @elangsawah

    😆
    BTW, kayanya saya tahu ini sapa 😛


Leave a Reply

lambrtz looks like this

Me

You can write comments in any language that you want, but please bear in mind that I only understand 4 languages: English, Indonesian, Javanese and Malay.

Archives

Categories

February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  
Click to view my Personality Profile page