Cynicism

Preliminary: Profesional-profesional Hot Indonesia di Medan Global

So here goes my cynicism. I am just wondering, whether those developing countries also make compilations of their citizens who are globally successful in their jobs, at least in this modern post-WWII era, and also talk about these people in seminars, mailing lists or daily chit-chats. Without even doing that, famous Chinese and Indian people have been significantly acknowledged in big universities and corporates, whereas the Japanese contribute scientifically, culturally and economically from their homeland.

Let me make my points clearer.

  1. There are only a few numbers of Indonesians who can make international breakthroughs, such that this kind of list can be quite easily created, in which Nelson Tansu is regularly featured. Can you imagine a list of internationally successful Indian or Chinese people?
  2. Inferiority complex, such that you need to boost the spirit of your countrymen by writing this stuff.

Oh yeah right, we are indeed a great nation. *whistling*

Now, you may ask me, “are you not proud of them?” Well, I might be wrong, but there are only 2 possible answers to this. One, yes, just like how I admire any other foreign people who were poverty-stricken and used to have limited access to information and chances, but can make their ways to stardom. Two, no, since I am not their relatives, neither do I take part in their success stories. Really, I don’t understand how one can relate these stories to nationalism, to how you can be proud of them and your nation. I mean, there must be some missing points that I overlook.

On a more positive note, however, at least in academia, there is a rising number of Indonesian graduate students in foreign institutes who desire to play the game at international level. It is indeed too late, as countries like China, India, Singapore and Taiwan have been sending their brightest minds to the world for decades, but yeah, hopefully we can hear more great Indonesian names in 10-30 years. 🙂

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

On a more negative note, I am concerned with the rise of religious fundamentalism and ridiculous demonstrations mostly associated to university students. Ladies and gentlemen, here are your future leaders. 🙂

9 Responses to “Cynicism”


  1. 1 lambrtz 03/05/2010 at 1:30 AM

    I know that I befriend antagonism in this kind of topic. :mrgreen:

  2. 2 kerti 03/05/2010 at 9:46 AM

    actually, I might agree with you more than we both think.

    on another issue: why are we so proud of sending our brightest minds out to do somebody else’s work? I mean, our nation has enough problems as it is, and we could sure use all the help we can muster up from our 250 million plus population. (as you mentioned, the Japanese make international contributions from their homeland, therefore their countrymen will experience the benefits of the breakthroughs first-hand)

    but that’s just me talking rubbish. I mean, if I had the capability and the opportunity, I’d probably be the first to board the aircraft 😀

  3. 3 lambrtz 03/05/2010 at 12:46 PM

    on another issue: why are we so proud of sending our brightest minds out to do somebody else’s work? I mean, our nation has enough problems as it is, and we could sure use all the help we can muster up from our 250 million plus population. (as you mentioned, the Japanese make international contributions from their homeland, therefore their countrymen will experience the benefits of the breakthroughs first-hand)

    First of all, my apologies for primarily leaning my opinion on academic and research viewpoints. I am incapable of commenting on the economic issues, so everybody is welcome to have a say on those matters. 🙂

    One. Any Indonesian institution here and here? And does LIPI do world class researches, comparable to those in, let’s say, CNRS, Max Planck, and Chinese Academy of Sciences? The fact is that those foreign institutes are the leading institutes, and these persons you are talking about must have been through shits to go there, so IMO it makes sense to be proud of them, at least if the first answer is taken.

    Two. Is the possibility of being listed there apparent?

    I remember watching a documentary on how in 1950s/1960s, only a few decades after Japan’s loss in WWII which devastated their economic resources, they sent their scientists to the US of A only to learn how to create calculator, and at that time it was already very hard for them to merely multiply with one. Now they have Geminoid. I am sorry, but I have this pessimistic sight that not in my lifetime will Indonesia be a developed country, contributing much to the research community, unless a radical political event occurs in the near future. That’s why many of our intellectuals choose to work for other countries, with a hope that someday they can bring their knowledge and networks to our country. IMO, simply joining national institutes from zero and establishing your way up is just a conservative method that cannot work anymore. 🙂

    I am not interested in tearing down the bureaucracy though.

  4. 4 Gentole 03/05/2010 at 5:49 PM

    i would like to comment on this, but later.

  5. 5 lambrtz 03/05/2010 at 5:55 PM

    Sure, thanks in advance 😀

  6. 6 kerti 03/05/2010 at 8:24 PM

    I think we’re not exactly on the same page. Please let me explain myself.

    My bet is that we have as many potentially awesome lawyers or bankers or architects as everybody else. We just missed out on them because some foreign country or organization snatched them and offered them a better deal. Why be proud of that?

    Mind you, I do not undermine their achievements; I’d love to see an engineer from any of our engineering schools leading Boeing or Airbus. I’m just not proud of how we’ve not done enough to keep those great minds working for us instead of for the other guy.

  7. 7 Gentole 04/05/2010 at 1:17 AM

    I’m equally annoyed. No, I am extremely disturbed by this loser mentality! I don’t know why our dear fellow countrymen think they need to prove the world they’re no losers. Well, they should know: I am proud of being a loser if the measure of success is getting hired by some foreign/multinational companies or being recognized by the white people or, God forbid, Singaporeans! And what is this thing called “medan global” anyway? You don’t have to go abroad or work for a giant company to change the world. Look at China and India! I know the Chinese and Indians are everywhere; but the world fears not the Chinese and Indian immigrants, but thousands if not millions of Indian and Chinese talents who never got their passports stamped but they did their best to develop their respective countries.

  8. 8 Gentole 04/05/2010 at 1:23 AM

    wah ternyata pendapatku agak mirip sama Mas Kerti. ah yah pokoknya begitulah. aku juga sebal.

  9. 9 kerti 05/05/2010 at 3:11 PM

    Apparently another friend of mine shares a similar (if not same) point of view. Here’s the link:

    http://hermansaksono.com/2010/05/sri-mulyani-ke-world-bank.html

    And I quote:
    “Sri Mulyani tidak rugi. Indonesia yang rugi.”


Leave a Reply

lambrtz looks like this

Me

You can write comments in any language that you want, but please bear in mind that I only understand 4 languages: English, Indonesian, Javanese and Malay.

Archives

Categories

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Click to view my Personality Profile page