Propagandas of The Nations

(I think the title would translate to Propaganda Bangsa-Bangsa in Bahasa Indonesia)

So this morning I watched this movie, Shooting Muhammad, about a Palestinian student called Muhammad who comes from West Bank and studies at the Ariel University Center of Samaria (I don’t know whether it had become a university during the movie shooting, but that is what it is called now) in the Jewish settlement of Ariel in the middle of West Bank, and I saw the differing opinions between the Israeli Jews and the Palestinians about the settlements. The first group thinks that back then there was nothing in the land, and they developed it. The second group thinks that previously the Arabs lived in the areas where the settlements currently are, but after the war (I can’t remember whether it was the 1948 or the 1967 war) they were forced to leave the areas. I may be wrong, but when watching the video, I had a sense that the Israeli kids and young adults were propagandised in their early lives; not directly by the government, but by their own parents and grandparents. Dunno, maybe you think the video is biased, but that’s what I thought. Maybe I need to watch more pro-Israel documentaries (if the video I just watched was pro-Palestine at all).

This reminds of Bang Ando’s post [here], in which one of his comment there tells us about how the Japanese government still hides some facts regarding the history of Japan, especially about their WWII policy. As an Indonesian, how can I forget the P4 and the New Order’s version of G30SPKI? I read in one blog (I forget which blog) about how the blogger’s mother / grandmother still thought that the Chinese Indonesian were still not completely Indonesian, influenced by the New Order’s policy on them. And yeeeess, the USA, the UK, Germany, Russia, you name it, they all make [propagandas].😀

So here is my opinion: each nation always does a propaganda for its people, and each nation always has something to be propagandised.🙂

5 Responses to “Propagandas of The Nations”


  1. 1 lambrtz 27/02/2011 at 1:27 PM

    And when you look at this kind of stories, you can suddenly feel that your problem is nothing compared to them. And by you, I don’t only mean I, but also you, my readers. Like what I’ve written [here] on Bang Amed’s blog, when I hear somebody sigh, “Life is hard,”

    I am often tempted to say, “stay in Darfur for 5 years, then tell me again”.

    😆

  2. 2 itikkecil 27/02/2011 at 9:15 PM

    when I hear somebody sigh, “Life is hard,”
    I am often tempted to say, “stay in Darfur for 5 years, then tell me again”.

    Oh yeah… in my case,try to become a transgender sex worker for one week, then tell me again *eh*

  3. 3 AnDo 27/02/2011 at 11:09 PM

    Ah, propaganda isn’t it? I suggested you a movie to watch, didn’t I? Have you watch it? Because they will make another excellent movie with the same theme…. \m/
    *You can ask Mr. Liu to watch the movie together with you*

    I am often tempted to say, “stay in Darfur for 5 years, then tell me again”.

    Don’t worry, you may stay in Darfur more than 5 years without come back and tell me anything, because you won’t stay alive after several moths.😆

  4. 4 Eon Strife 28/02/2011 at 3:46 PM

    How about this one, propaganda using Mickey Mouse :

    What’s next ? maybe using Pong or Pac-Man

  5. 5 Eon Strife 28/02/2011 at 3:49 PM

    or, North Korea propaganda using Text Book : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=udUkI3Q6Ny4


Leave a Reply

lambrtz looks like this

Me

You can write comments in any language that you want, but please bear in mind that I only understand 4 languages: English, Indonesian, Javanese and Malay.

Archives

Categories

February 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  
Click to view my Personality Profile page