Motivation to Love

You are the strength, that keeps me walking.
You are the hope, that keeps me trusting.
You are the light to my soul.
You are my purpose…you’re everything.

How can I stand here with you and not be moved by you?
Would you tell me how could it be any better than this?

I have recently finished this Smash! manga, which tells about a bunch of Japanese teenagers pursuing their dreams to be top badminton players. I thought this was going to be Captain-Tsubasa-ish, or at least Shoot-ish, but it turned to be Salad Days-ish, yet I still finished the manga. Anyway, there is one topic that I still cannot understand. At one point, one of the male protagonists confesses that his main motivation behind his dream to be a top national badminton athlete is his girlfriend, one of the female protagonists. Apparently the latter, as a child prodigy, develops faster than the former, and the former tries to catch up with the latter. Had he not met her, he might probably have taken different life path, as he originally was not fascinated at badminton, even though he was quite good at it, before meeting her. After that, I found similar topic in the song attached in this post, after dnial posted it on Facebook. What causes my confusion is, why is it that some people need to have love to advance himself/herself? Thanks to my parents who gave me comics about the lives of well-known scientists like Isaac Newton and Albert Einstein when I was a kid, I have been self-motivated for the whole of my life. That’s why I don’t get how the philosophy which these people adhere to. In addition, as an elitist, honestly speaking, I consider them [censor][censor][censor][censor][censor][censor]. dnial mentioned that some people at some time do get stuck at some moments of their lives, which is a reference to the famous U2’s song, which I also fail to understand: I was stuck to my unrequited first love for 6 or 8 effin’ years, depending on the version you believe in, and I always remain the old self-motivated lambrtz. Well I considered dnial’s subsequent comment as an ad hominem, so I am moving my question here.

Me? I have different motivation to love, and it is another story.

14 Responses to “Motivation to Love”


  1. 1 lambrtz 26/06/2011 at 9:01 PM

    OK I realised that this song is actually about God and faith, so my apology for the different interpretation. Nevertheless, my points stand firm.

  2. 2 dnial 27/06/2011 at 10:52 AM

    Oh… What you mean is that is we need love so we can go on with our dream/life/achievement?
    Sorry for my misunderstanding, I thought what you mean is that why do people need other people to help them move on with their love life. Hence, the robot comment. :p

    But yes, the robot comment still relevant, though.๐Ÿ˜€

    People is not a logical being but emotional one. They need relation with other to survive and to fulfill their dream. You might not realize it because you’re in the right pond, and you think that all your motivation come from within.

    For example, if we life among scientist we might think that that’s the proper way of life, you have scientist lifestyle, scientist dream, and scientist achievement. The same if you work among athletes.

    Try to be scientist in athletes community, and you’ll find hard to find the right motivation to move on.๐Ÿ˜€

    So one secret to self-motivation is revealed: Find the right pond. :p

  3. 3 dnial 27/06/2011 at 10:53 AM

    And yes, you need love. Love and support from your parents, peers, family, friends and spouse.

  4. 4 lambrtz 27/06/2011 at 11:46 AM

    I don’t doubt all the people in the world (well maybe except a few) need love. What I was questioning is the reason behind it. Why do we love? Do we need love merely to achieve, let’s say, our career goal? You got it right in your first sentence in the second comment.

    Well I think I can partially agree to your pond opinion. Nobody in my family is a scientist or a lecturer (well my mother lectured but only on a part-time basis), but my parents always motivated me to pursue this career path (although being open to other alternatives). We don’t need to be born in a work-related family, but as long as the family is supportive, I guess it is enough. Nevertheless, weren’t the people I was talking about also born in such families?

    Try to be scientist in athletes community

    Ever heard of sport scientist?:mrgreen:

  5. 5 dnial 27/06/2011 at 11:56 AM

    Yes, I did. But do they play the sport well or just hard-core fans? :p

  6. 6 dnial 27/06/2011 at 11:57 AM

    btw, your title should be motivation from love, not motivation to love? (thinking)

  7. 7 lambrtz 27/06/2011 at 1:07 PM

    Dude, even Jose Mourinho only had a brief footballing career, and Andrรฉ Villas-Boas cannot play football.๐Ÿ˜†

    Hmmm I think you have a point. Let me try to re-consider it.๐Ÿ˜• Thanks.

  8. 8 Felicia 27/06/2011 at 4:08 PM

    I think it’s not ‘we need love to motivate’ but ‘when we love someone, we become motivated to at least be equal to him/her’…
    At least that’s what I used to be these years…
    I had someone I liked who worked at faraway place…
    During that time, I always wanted to go and work there so that I can be with him๐Ÿ˜›
    But alas, everytime I thought I was one step closer, he’s always ten steps further…sigh…
    *malah curcol*๐Ÿ˜†

  9. 9 grace 27/06/2011 at 7:56 PM

    do we need love merely for our career goal?
    Yes and no. Some people use love as their main motivation to get higher and higher just like mbak Felicia did. Some others, use love to motivate themselves but not the only source of motivation, and there are people like you who find your own motivation outside of love of others.
    It really depends on how the person perceives love on their priority list and how much they need love in their lives. btw, if it is relevant, Maslow’s hierarchial needs right after basic need is social need, right? this shows how important love and support of others to motivate you in your career. *moga2 komenku nyambung*

  10. 10 lambrtz 28/06/2011 at 11:20 AM

    I think I can just combine my response to the two of you.

    @Felicia, Grace
    Yeah I think I can agree to the explanations from you two. But it doesn’t mean when the person is no longer there, we stop walking, does it? As in, “You are the strength, that keeps me walking”. I am my strength, that keeps me walking. (doh sounds arrogant)๐Ÿ˜†
    In fact, as I hinted at the end of this post, I use love mainly for something not related to career achievement. It’s rather related to Grace’s last paragraph.๐Ÿ˜›

    @Felicia
    Tenang, curcol gratis kok di sini. :-”
    Jadi di mana dia sekarang?๐Ÿ˜›

  11. 11 Grace 28/06/2011 at 1:22 PM

    But it doesnโ€™t mean when the person is no longer there, we stop walking, does it? As in, โ€œYou are the strength, that keeps me walkingโ€. I am my strength, that keeps me walking.

    That, dear, is also one form of love: Self-love. We talked about this back then, didnt we? And yes, in this case we share similar view:mrgreen:
    But then, maybe we still know little about life yet being too proud and arrogant for now, maybe things will be different later, maybe life will change our perspective upside down and makes us bite our own ass. Well, who knows? *just saying*๐Ÿ˜›

  12. 12 lambrtz 28/06/2011 at 1:46 PM

    Self-love

    Now you make me feel sinful hahahaha

    Well maybe once we have our families, we will be motivated by them, because we have to work hard (and smartly) to feed them hehehe. But about the change of view itself, I myself had a few lately, so it’s ok. BTW I sometimes eat brutu.๐Ÿ˜† *ra nyambung*

  13. 13 Ceritaeka 29/06/2011 at 10:00 AM

    I wish to meet u and talk about this “stuck” moment in personal…
    Difficult to explain it in written.. Geeez…

  14. 14 lambrtz 29/06/2011 at 10:22 AM

    Stuck? With your husband? Lah it’s good to.:mrgreen: :-“


Leave a Reply

lambrtz looks like this

Me

You can write comments in any language that you want, but please bear in mind that I only understand 4 languages: English, Indonesian, Javanese and Malay.

Archives

Categories

June 2011
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Click to view my Personality Profile page