Departure

My parents often said that when they were young, things were not as easy as they are nowadays difficult. Neither my father nor my mother comes from a rich family. My mother has 5 siblings, and when they were young, they had to share a bowl of bakso (meatballs), usually just consisting of 3 meatballs. As for my father, I remember him saying that Khong Guan biscuits were luxuries to him back then, yet kids nowadays aren’t really fond of them. It was blood and tears for both my parents to have education until graduating from universities. But even, as I mentioned a few months ago, after they got married, life was not really easy. My father always said that I am a “comic boy”, as he had to work in a comic rental in our hometown to support the family, especially my birth, until my mother got a position as a civil servant in a village in the outskirt of my mother’s birthplace.

Now, sometimes I am ashamed that things are much different and easier for me. I always have enough coins to spend on Pepsi or canned green tea at vending machines, although nowadays I mostly drink te-ping, mineral water, and milk. At least until next year, I have enough money to buy meals with one heavy and one light side dishes. Even when I went home last month, when I went out with a friend and was photoed, I noticed that I seemed to look like an upper class person, even though I borrowed the T-shirts and pants from my father. Some of my friends in the close circle are high-spenders. And I went to buffet restaurants a few times already.

I know that the place I am in now is not comparable to where I come from, which is of much much lower living cost. But still, even being average here is considered high enough there. My condition is much much better than those of my parents when they were about my age. Indeed, this implies that financially speaking, my family’s condition is getting better. But as I go forward, I seem to depart from the humble life my parents and I had in the past…

3 Responses to “Departure”


  1. 1 Ando-kun 17/01/2012 at 1:11 AM

    sorry, males ngetik pakai inglis.

    I noticed that I seemed to look like an upper class person, even though I borrowed the T-shirts and pants from my father. Some of my friends in the close circle are high-spenders.

    Jadi inget pas pulang tahun 2009. Datang ke Pacific Palace, tempat elite di daerah Jl. Sudirman JKT, buat reuni kumpul sama teman-teman satu SMA. Rata-rata yang datang rada borju dengan omongan yang rada… well, upper class as you said. Aku datang dgn status mahasiswa kere, pakai baju kaos oblong punya adikku, dan celana jeans plus sendal jepit (untung gak ketauan satpam, bisa2 diusir kali):lol:
    Rasanya kayak berada di dunia lain, apalagi kalau dibandingkan dengan kondisi waktu masih SMA di Belitung… dengan orang-orang yang sama.

  2. 2 kerti 17/01/2012 at 8:49 AM

    [quote]But as I go forward, I seem to depart from the humble life my parents and I had in the past…[/quote]

    Minta ijin quote dan share gan…

  3. 3 christin 18/01/2012 at 3:56 AM

    ketika kamu sadar akan pergeseran itu, saat itulah kamu tidak benar-benar pergi sebenarnya. that’s a good thing, awareness. memang keadaan berubah, tapi di dalam hati tetap ada banyak hal dari masa lalu yang kamu pegang. hal-hal yang baik seperti kesederhanaan.


Leave a Reply

lambrtz looks like this

Me

You can write comments in any language that you want, but please bear in mind that I only understand 4 languages: English, Indonesian, Javanese and Malay.

Archives

Categories

January 2012
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Click to view my Personality Profile page