A Coptic Hymn

As an Indonesian, I automatically perceive Arabic chants as Islamic. Well I don’t speak Arabic, so when I listened the above hymn it is very very hard for me to accept that it is a part of Christian tradition. I have to listen very carefully for any word I am familiar with; I think I heard some “Kyrie”s there. Also, I live with a Protestant family, and the neighbour next door is a Muslim family, so I am wondering if they think I am listening to an Islamic prayer, as IMO Orthodox Christianity, let alone the Coptic rite, is not widely known in this part of the world. But I have loved Arabic chants for a few years already, and somehow listening to this song makes me want to attend a Coptic service someday.

Update: I played the video again and realised that the video actually begins in English (…and forgive us our sins)! Gosh, it does take time!

Another update: not only does the video begin in English, but the first half of the video seems to be entirely in English! So I can confirm that my Indonesian ears are more sensitive to the Arabic tone than the actual prayer.

5 Responses to “A Coptic Hymn”


  1. 1 Pak Guru 11/05/2013 at 10:10 PM

    Di telinga saya kok walau familiar tetap ada yang janggal, seperti uncanny valley begitu. Mungkin dialeknya atau kosakatanya beda?

  2. 2 lambrtz 11/05/2013 at 10:15 PM

    Saya dengarkan lagi dan ternyata memang doa awal-awal itu Bahasa Inggris. Ga kerasa memang.😆

  3. 4 Gentole 18/06/2013 at 12:30 AM

    kok diterjemahin ke bahasa inggris?😐

  4. 5 lambrtz 18/06/2013 at 12:33 AM

    Lagunya? Ya ndak tau saya. :-S


Leave a Reply

lambrtz looks like this

Me

You can write comments in any language that you want, but please bear in mind that I only understand 4 languages: English, Indonesian, Javanese and Malay.

Archives

Categories

May 2013
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Click to view my Personality Profile page