Analogue and a Few Notes

via Wikipedia, from the games Steam page

My hardcore gamer friend [disc-co] told me about this game called [Analogue: A Hate Story]. I was fascinated at the future setting and premise of it featuring “transhumanism, traditional marriage, loneliness” and LGBT, from the Wikipedia entry. Upon playing the game for the first time, I was annoyed by the stacks of letters I have to read. At a glance, they appread to be soap opera-ish, featuring family affairs here and there. Also, I was reminded of the letters in early Resident Evil (RE) games. I always skipped those letters in RE as I had the walkthrough, but in here I had to read the letters. However, on the next day I tried to be more patient and read the letters one by one. It turned out to be not so soap opera-ish. Behind the family affairs and adulterous wives, there are things which I would like to take some notes of.

  1. Albeit being interested in transhumanism, I do have some degrees of scepticism, especially about the future of humanities. One thing which draws questions from me is cryonics as means to escape death. I am not sure if the people whose bodies or brains are preserved are brave or something, but I am certainly curious as for how they predict the future will be, and what if the future turns out to be as what they have predicted.
  2. It’s funny to me that while in the past women were confined from further studies and to domestic matters, now I am looking for an independent and intelligent woman who is basically my equal. Oh how fast time flies. And this creates problem for me as well, considering my small pool et cetera et cetera.
  3. Another funny thing is that while women are typically only regarded as child-factories and child-bearers, the population is portrayed to be shrinking. I wonder what is the rationale behind this phenomenon.
  4. Apparently the developer has some opinions to be expressed in LGBT matters. While I have no problem with this, I am scared of the prospect of [having relationship] [with AIs], let alone with those with no proper physical embodiment.

BTW, the sequel is supposed to be released today.

6 Responses to “Analogue and a Few Notes”


  1. 1 Eon Strife 19/08/2013 at 7:44 AM

    http://www.sinfest.net/archive_page.php?comicID=4681 <- Reminds me of Cloud Atlas novel..In one scene, Somni-451 encountered somebody dumping a Somni from a bridge because there's a newer clone model :v

  2. 3 Difo Aldiaz (@bapakguru) 19/08/2013 at 12:29 PM

    I got the demo yesterday. Will go and jajal itu within a month; a friend told me it’s a huge demo, spanning almost the first third.

  3. 5 lambrtz 19/08/2013 at 3:49 PM

    @Eon Strife
    On Sonmi: yea, maybe something like that. While racism happened in the past due to ignorance and bloated egos which led to the consideration of other races as subhuman, we perfectly know that AIs are not humans…
    On Chobits: who or what is Chobits? *smacked*

    @Difo Aldiaz (@bapakguru)
    Within a month? The gameplay is only 1-2 hours. Anyway you can try it.😛

  4. 6 Eon Strife 19/08/2013 at 10:59 PM

    You should check this .. about how we should treat Android or Cyborg.. What are their rights ? etc.


Leave a Reply

lambrtz looks like this

Me

You can write comments in any language that you want, but please bear in mind that I only understand 4 languages: English, Indonesian, Javanese and Malay.

Archives

Categories

August 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Click to view my Personality Profile page