Badminton

I’ve been closely following badminton tournaments for two years and a half now and I realised two things.

  1. Good western players can have very long careers. Peter Gade played regularly until 35, Robert Mateusiak is still active in 37, and I was shocked to see that Charmane Reid is 40 and still keeps on marching!
  2. China dominates badminton with [a twist], but that is another story. However, Chinese athletes often have very short careers. I used to see Chen Jin in top tournaments just 1-2 years ago, but now not anymore. I fail to witness Wang Lin’s golden age, and I just realised that there were top young players named Lu Lan and Zhu Lin, who went out of radar probably around the 2008 Olympics.

0 Responses to “Badminton”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

lambrtz looks like this

Me

You can write comments in any language that you want, but please bear in mind that I only understand 4 languages: English, Indonesian, Javanese and Malay.

Archives

Categories

November 2013
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
Click to view my Personality Profile page